And I Call Myself An Adult…

OK…. So something weird happened to me yesterday. Over the last couple of weeks, I’ve had a customer who I shall call Gentle Giant. He’s been in a lot, and he’s spent a lot of time in my store, mostly because my company are somewhat incompetent at times. (Just another reason I’m leaving… Friday is my last day!)

Well, we happen to have a vaping habit as common ground. Talking and sharing tips, things moved on to a Facebook level. We’re now friends, and by all accounts, flirting.

And I Call Myself An Adult...

Now, before you get too excited, let me just tell you something. He’s not attractive. He’s big and lumbering and hairy. Like six and half feet big, and almost as wide. I think he’s a couple of years younger than me, and there’s no physical attraction there. However, on a ‘talking’ level, we have some sort of weird connection. Our Facebook messages are getting progressively chattier even though I can see his ‘taken’ Facebook status, and I would imagine he could sense mine. If Someone New didn’t look enough like my boyfriend, I’m sure my constant and very regular status’ with Bestie will make me appear off the market…. Right?

Wrong. I’m pretty sure he’s flirting with me. To be fair, I was sure he was into me before we’d even gotten to a Facebook level so to some extent, I’m not convinced this ISN’T leading him on. But all that aside, I shouldn’t be indulging in cheeky flirtation. I have Someone New. Although I think Karen was right in her comment… I’m not that into him, am I? He’s just a little something to pass the time, perhaps? Although I know it’s only going to be a matter of time before shit kicks off and we’re ready to part ways. It just seems a bit of a shame. He’s actually a decent guy, if a little on the controlling side.

Back to the Gentle Giant though, and I can’t work him out. Like he must know that I can see he has a girlfriend? It’s on his Facebook page. It’s not like its secretly hidden somewhere. I didn’t need to go looking to find it. So why is he flirting with me? And worse, even though I’m not interested, why do I feel compelled to flirt back? Even the cleanest of messages ends up having some sort of weird flirty twist in there. Its like I can’t help myself.

I know what it is. Bestie has gone away on his vacation for a week, and I’ve been left to my own devices. He’s only been gone for a couple of days, and I’m already bored of Someone New, made a new friend (Gentle Giant) who I’m not attracted to, but can’t help flirting with anyway, and booked my leaving party for work…. Which will probably end up with me and Number 42 in bed again. Let’s not beat around the bush. It’s probably going to happen.

He’s already made it clear he wants it to happen. He’s been the one instigating the event. There’s a problem though. The last few weeks I’ve gotten somewhat closer to a different male work colleague, and he’s started to take things to a flirtier level, trying to get me to go a festival with him, and telling me he’ll kidnap me if I don’t come out for the leaving do. I’m definitely not flirting back. We’ve worked together for too long for me to see him in THAT way, plus he’s a few years younger than I am. It’s a no-go. Even I’m not that dumb. But, Bestie picked up on the flirty atmosphere a little while back, and I’ve started to notice little things myself.

I think it’s just a weird period in my life. I’m quitting my job. I’m becoming proper, full-time self employed and I won’t lie, I’m shitting my pants about it a little bit. Plus I don’t know what I’m doing with Someone New. Although I do know I’m about to blow him out this afternoon. It’s a shame he doesn’t know that yet. He will soon. Maybe I’m just bored?

See, I can’t be trusted when you leave me to my own devices. I need Bestie back to help me make my decisions again! And I call myself an adult. Pffft.

Leave a Reply

