My Best Friend’s Dog…

My Bestie on the other side of the world had to put her dog down today. The poor thing kept going for her new baby, she had tried to re-home the dog for months, didn’t want to take him to the shelter, and he only had three legs and was struggling to get around on his own. Her and her hubby decided that the best decision for the dog was for him to be put down.

As soon as I saw her status on Facebook, I broke down and cried and I’m still crying now. I loved that dog. I remember when I was taking care of it for her when she went on vacation and it got out and went back to their old house. They had only moved a few weeks, if that, before they went away and the dog wanted to go home, poor guy. I tracked him down, repaired the broken gate in their new house, and all was well with the world.

I don’t know why this news made me cry so badly, but I haven’t cried like that in forever. In fact, I haven’t cried in forever period. I think it was a release. Proper lip-quivering, eye-welling, throat-closing gulps of sadness. I felt for her, I really did. I know exactly how much that dog meant to her, and also how much it would have killed her for her to make the decision to have him put down.

I remember the funny way she used to say his name. It was an unusual name but it worked well for the dog. I really want to put the name here but then I would be scared that someone that knew me would read this and they would instantly know it was me. Paranoid, huh?

I don’t know what’s up with me recently. I’ve been a bit emotional and I think I’m still due on my period. I am getting a bit worried that I was running late as I can never remember when my last period was and I haven’t exactly been spot on with my pill since OB had the snip. I know we needed to wait a few months before he got the all-clear, but it hasn’t been at the top of my priorities. Stupid me. I don’t think I am late though; I have that over-emotional thing I get when everything makes me cry. Especially the revelation about that poor dog.

I’ve slept better since OB left, which is a good thing, but I’m still looking for him in my bed. It’s going to hit me like a ton of bricks one night, and I’m going to be staring at the ceiling at 5 in the morning, lonely with no one to talk to. I miss OB. Just two days ago I couldn’t get rid of him, but now I miss him. I guess we really are in a big time relationship then.

For now I’m going to smoke me a spliff, get into bed and watch some romantic-comedy that will inevitably make me cry for the rest of the evening. I just wish I weren’t watching it alone.

 

Leave a Reply

