Apparently, Sex Has Benefits?

I read a very interesting article recently – the ten surprising health benefits of sex. Long story short, this is basically what it said:

  1. It’s a great form of exercise
  2. It relieves stress
  3. It boosts immunity
  4. It improves cardiovascular health
  5. It boosts self-esteem
  6. It improves intimacy
  7. It reduces pain
  8. It reduces the risk of various cancers
  9. It strengthens the pelvic floor (definite winner!)
  10. It helps you to sleep better

I had some views after reading this of course. Firstly, if sex has all these benefits surrounding it, why am I called names when I am honest about my sexual experiences? Surely, having sex should be the same as heading to the gym?

“What did you do this morning?”

“Oh you know, had some sex, burned some calories, took steps to prevent against cancer and cardiovascular conditions…”

Surely, having sex is the smartest thing you can do to start your day? Even further than that, maybe sex should be compulsory at least three times per week? I’d say daily but I know not everyone has the same sex drive as me.

I know I have slept with more than my fair share of men, to the fact where I would probably call myself a bit of a slut, but if you spread them out over the years since I lost my virginity, it’s not so bad. The only problem I have right now is that by sleeping with all of these men, my immunity should make me pretty much indestructible. It definitely hasn’t done that, especially at the moment where I am writing this with a tissue shoved up my nose, dosed up on cold and flu drugs, and a throat that feels as if it is being sliced open by razor blades. It’s not an attractive look, trust me.

Apparently having 30 minutes of sex can burn off 85 calories and more. This is another thing I have a problem with. During my years with the Big Love and the Husband, I had a lot of sex. Sometimes with them, sometimes not with them…. Those periods of my life were my fattest. I am currently losing weight and I’m not in a relationship, nor am I having regular sex. I doubt I’m even averaging once per week. This means I am either the exception to the rule, or I am doing something seriously wrong. Since I left the Big Love 8 months ago, I have lost around 60 pounds and in that time, I haven’t had that much in the way of regular sex. I haven’t been going to the gym either. I have been walking to work and that takes around twenty minutes every day, but aside from that, I’m not really doing anything different…?

Sex helps you to sleep better? Rubbish! After sex I am ready and raring to go again, regardless of how good it was or how many times I have cum! Sex means one thing for me – more sex. Once is never enough. It certainly doesn’t make me sleepy afterwards. Also, during the periods of my life where I have had the most sex, I have also become an insomniac. With the Big Love especially, I was forever up long after he had gone to bed and we had sex, to the point where I used to get up in the middle of the night and done the housework. Again, perhaps I am just the exception to the rule?

I DO agree with the pelvic floor stuff but I don’t know if that is down to sex or the fact that I masturbate ALL THE TIME. Nearly every guy I have ever slept with has said that I am “very tight” down there… Maybe I’m just blessed?

It boosts self-esteem? I’m not sure either way on this fact to be honest. I do feel good during sex but that’s because it releases endorphins, right? Afterwards when we are naked and cuddling or whatever, I just feel uncomfortable. In my head, I’m still the fat kid.

Stress relief…. Well, again, I’m not sold. I actually think sex increased my levels of stress – does he like me, was I good, did he enjoy it, am I going to cum…. So many questions. Thee can’t be good for my stress levels.

To be honest, I’m not really sure where I’m going with this argument. I guess I just wanted to have a rant. What do you think? Do you agree with the reported health benefits of sex? I’d love to know your views.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Apparently, Sex Has Benefits?

  1. I think the exercise part might be more for guys, lol. At least when they are the ones doing all the work. The Professor in my life doesn’t have time to work out but his body looks good and I think its due to the sex, seriously, lol. I agree on the stress relief part too. 🙂 I always feel better after sex. I don’t know about the health benefits, that’s hard to say. I’d say it CAN boost self esteem, or it can knock it down, depending on who you sleep with and how they act towards you. A one night pump and dump and the guy disappears is not going to make me feel great about myself. Of course its great for intimacy in a relationship. I think a good orgasm can make it easier to sleep.I hope it strengthens the pelvic floor. I don’t know, you hear all this stuff about how lots of sex supposedly stretches you out but I have my doubts about that. I’ve had kids and worried that would make me looser too but it doesn’t seem to be an issue and I’ve still been called “tight” since then.

Leave a Reply

