They Called Him My Father Figure…

So…. I was watching Sex and the City this evening. You know the one – Carrie’s father figure editor guy from Vogue gives her the old ‘your daddy run away so now you’re looking for a father figure‘ speech. It got me thinking. My daddy left when I was barely six months old, so am I technically looking for a father figure myself?

Sex and the City - They Called Him My Father Figure...

I looked back at all the guys I’ve dated and I’m trying to find a pattern. Are they all father figures.

Do I even have a pattern at all?

The guy I’m with now, (good sex, bad foreplay guy) he looks after me. He holds my hand when I cross the road, never makes me walk next to the road on the sidewalk, holds my shopping bags, buys me drinks…. This doesn’t make him a father figure though, right? Surely that just makes him somewhat of a gentleman?

The guy before him; Big Love… the one I moved to the other side of the world for, he totally looked after me. Not so much towards the end of course, we’d still be together if that were the case. He was most definitely my daddy figure regardless of how much I would rather think otherwise.

The guy before him, the one I married, The Hubby, he was just an asshole. An abusive, cheating, asshole of a man. No, not even man, child. He was most definitely not my father figure.

I could go on like this forever. Seriously, I’ve dated a lot of guys. I realised during my thinking that my guys all have a few things in common:

*they are all arrogant
*they would all totally save me in a zombie apocalypse
*they were all some kind of father figure in some way or another

I have come to the conclusion that yes, I’m looking for a guy that will take care of me. This doesn’t mean I want a father figure, it just means I want a gentleman. Now if only these ‘gentleman‘ didn’t have so many personality defects, messed up childhoods, or just turned into plain and simple assholes (not that I’m bitter), then we may actually have worked….

Facebook

2 thoughts on “They Called Him My Father Figure…

  1. Pingback: What Do I Want in a Man? « Not so Sex in the City!

  2. Pingback: Dating a Man With Kids… | Not So Sex in the City!

Leave a Reply

